The 5 Why

Taufiq G
2 min readAug 1, 2022

Un-reveal the deepest purpose of your customers

Henry ford once says…

If I had asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses ~ Henry Ford

Now…

What does that mean?

Your customers might not give you the right information when you ask them

But…it’s not their fault

It’s how you ask them the right set of question

Let’s break it down like this

What do you want?
A faster horse
Why do you want a faster horse?
Because I want a reliable transportation
Why do you want reliable transportation?
Because I want to travel fast
Why do you want to travel fast?
Because I want to meet my family earlier
Why do you want to meet your family earlier?
Because I don’t want to miss any important event with my family
Why you don’t want to miss any important event with your family?
Because I want to spend my precious time with my beloved one

Can you spot the difference?

The initial motivation changes
between reliable transportation into spending precious time

It seems like their motivation is not really transportation but how they can save their time and spend it with their loved ones.

Now, with this information in mind, we can create products and messaging that fit better with our users

The 5 Why Method Initially Created for a Root-Cause Analysis

to understand the root cause of a problem that may lay behind the surface

But it can be used for a user interview…
to understand what they really want and need

So that we can create a better product that is based on the user’s need (Wanted by the users)

Those answers will vary with the different users when interviewing

But.. it should have a pattern that shares a similar answer in particular and it can be grouped into a user persona

Next time we will cover user persona and the importance of acknowledging it to create a better product

--

--

Taufiq G

Sharing about Tech, Business, Personal Growth, and Product